Gather Up, Man Up

 

"Gather Up, Man Up" is the founding event of a new Men's Movement: Movement of contemporary Manliness, short: MOM.

The MOM Natives gather with their novices and investigate the rhetoric and practices of current, mostly right-wing masculinity in an offline meeting: the tears of the Sad Boys, the ghost status of the Men Going Their Own Way (mgtow.com) and the radical potential of Herbivore Men. MOM questions: What has to be given up, what has to be reclaimed?

How can understandings of masculinity beyond biological identity and heteronormativity be established? How can masculinity be a tool for change? How can we become MOM?

Within the frame of the Bloom up Residency THE AGENCY and their collaborators Nile Koetting (sound designer, performer), Taro Inamura (dramaturg, research Japan) and Kanako Azuma (video artist) from Tokyo were able to face the challenge of designing a New Men*s Movement that operates beyond identity politics in the current climate and offers positive potential for identification.

Pic: Franz Kimmel

"Gather Up, Man Up" developed as the first fragment of THE AGENCY´s cycle of works New Men's Movement as part of the Bloom up Residency of the Rodeo Festival Munich.

Supported by Rodeo Festival Munich, Goethe Institut Munich and Saison Foundation Tokyo.

with

Nile Koetting, Fabian Stumm, Kanako Azuma, Dorian Fabini, Taro Inamura, THE AGENCY

Part of the series MOVEMENTS

New Men*s Movement

 

“New Men*s Movement” is a cycle, which is dedicated to the connection between masculinity and far-right thinking in the post-digital age. The identity of the white, heterosexual male is said to be in a “crisis”: he is unsettled and angry at the increasing questioning of his privileges. At the same time, we are not only experiencing the strengthening of far-right ideas in Europe and the USA, but the spread of it which is mainly organized by men in online forums and analogously in movements and parties. If we assume with the US sociologist and masculinity researcher Michael Kimmel that "a certain understanding of masculinity creates certain political attitudes." (Kimmel, Angry White Men, 2013) - could new understandings of masculinity also create new political attitudes? From the analysis of these relationships, THE AGENCY created  the productions Man up, Gather up (2018), Boys Space (2019) and Take it like a Man (2019), which occupy the digital and the analog space in order to design a countermovement: A New Men*s Movement.

RESEARCH IN JAPAN

Our research in Japan in May/June 2018 and in Munich in September/October 2018, made possible by the scholarship Bloom up from the Rodeo Festival, has revolved around the phenomenon "Herbivore Men". The sociologist Maki Fukasawa used this term to describe heterosexual men in their mid-twenties to mid-thirties who do not pursue a typical career, do not play the role of breadwinner and husband, and - very present in the Western media - perhaps even have less or no sex. Herbivore (= plant-eating) is associated with Buddhism and is associated with descriptions such as "peace-loving", "noble" and "reaching a higher spiritual level". Soon the term became an insult to a generation of men among Japanese politicians, who were blamed for the low birth rate and the economic decline of the Japanese state: These men did not fulfill their duties, they were not men, it was said. This phenomenon, which takes place very quietly, is our starting point: What happens when men move away from the roles attributed to them by neoliberalism and patriarchy? And what would happen if this phenomenon were to develop into a movement beyond Japan?

RESEARCH IN USA

The strongest contrast to the herbivore men of Japan are probably the American Angry White Men, with whom THE AGENCY dealt with in a research trip in March/April 2019 as part of the work grant from the City of Munich. The Angry White Men include various phenomena such as the so-called Incels (Involuntary Celibats), whose demand for a male right to sex also includes the legalization of rape, or the anti-feminist group “Men going their own way”, which are characterized by aiming to achieve their “sexodus” to liberate themselves from women and a world which they feel dominated by women. In interviews with Michael Kimmel (Angry White Men, 2013 or Healing from Hate, 2018) and Arlie Russel Hochschild (Strangers in their own Land, 2016) THE AGENCY investigated the complex of male entitlements, a supposed loss of privileges and outdated hero characters.

all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2020

Gather up, Man up

 

 

“Gather Up, Man Up” ist die Gründungsveranstaltung der Neuen Männer*bewegung: Movement of contemporary Manliness, kurz: MOM. Die MOM Natives versammeln sich mit ihren Novices und untersuchen in einem Offline-Meeting die Rhetoriken und Praktiken aktueller, zumeist rechter Männlichkeiten: die Tränen der Sad Boys, den Ghost Status der Men Going Their Own Way (mgtow.com) sowie das radikale Potential herbivorer Männer. MOM fragt: Was muss aufgegeben werden, was zurückerobert? Wie lassen sich Männlichkeitsverständnisse jenseits biologischer Identität und Heteronormativität etablieren? Wie kann Männlichkeit ein Tool für Change werden? How can we become MOM?

Im Rahmen der Bloom up Residency hatten THE AGENCY und ihre Kollaborateur*innen Nile Koetting (Sound Designer, Performer), Taro Inamura (Dramaturg, Recherche Japan) und Kanako Azuma (Videokünstlerin) aus Tokyo die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam erste Ideen zu einer Neue Männerbewegung zu entwerfen, die im gegenwärtigen Klima jenseits identitätspolitischer Zuordnungen agiert und positives Identifikationspotenzial bietet.

Foto: Franz Kimmel

“Gather Up, Man Up” entstand als erstes Fragment des Werkzyklus Neue Männerbewegung im Rahmen der Bloom up Residency des Rodeo Festivals München. Unterstützt durch Rodeo Festival München, Goethe Institut München und Saison Foundation Tokyo.

mit

Nile Koetting, Fabian Stumm, Kanako Azuma, Dorian Fabini, Taro Inamura, THE AGENCY

Teil der Werkreihe MOVEMENTS

Neue Männer*bewegung

 

“Neue Männer*bewegung” ist ein thematischer Zyklus, der sich dem Zusammenhang von Maskulinität und rechtem Denken im post-digitalen Zeitalter widmet. Die Identität des weißen, heterosexuellen Mannes befindet sich angeblich in einer “Krise”: Er sei verunsichert und wütend angesichts der zunehmenden Infragestellung seiner Privilegien. Gleichzeitig erleben wir nicht nur in Europa und den USA das Erstarken extrem-rechten Gedankenguts, dessen Verbreitung vor allem männlich getragen ist und sich online in Foren und analog in Bewegungen und Parteien organisiert. Wenn wir mit dem US-amerikanischen Soziologen und Männlichkeitsforscher Michael Kimmel davon ausgehen, dass „ein bestimmtes Männlichkeitsverständnis bestimmte politische Einstellungen hervorbringt.“ (Kimmel, 2013) - ließen sich dann durch neue Verständnisse von Männlichkeit auch neue politische Einstellungen hervorbringen? Aus der Analyse dieser Zusammenhänge entstanden die Produktionen Gather up, Man up (2018), Boys Space (2019) und Take it like a Man (2019), die den digitalen und analogen Raum neu besetzen, um eine Gegenbewegung zu entwerfen: Eine Neue Männer*bewegung.

RESEARCH IN JAPAN

Unsere Recherche in Japan im Mai/Juni 2018 und in München im September/Oktober 2018, ermöglicht durch das Stipendium Bloom up vom Rodeo Festival und der Saison Foundation Tokyo, hat sich um das Phänomen Herbivore Männer gedreht. Mit diesem Begriff beschrieb die Soziologin Maki Fukasawa Mitte der Nullerjahre heterosexuelle Männer in ihren Mittzwanzigern bis Mittdreißigern, die nicht einer typischen Karriere, nicht der Rolle des Brotverdieners und Ehemannes nachgehen und - in den westlichen Medien sehr präsent - vielleicht sogar weniger oder keinen Sex mehr haben. Herbivor (= pfanzenfressend) ist buddhistisch assoziiert und wird mit Beschreibungen wie „friedliebend“, „edel“ und „eine höhere geistige Stufe erreichend“ verbunden. Bald wurde der Begriff unter japanischen Politikern zum Schimpfwort für eine Männergeneration, der man die niedrige Geburtenrate und den ökonomischen Untergang des japanischen Staates anlastete: Diese Männer erfüllten ihre Pflichten nicht, sie seien keine Männer, hieß es. Dieses Phänomen, das vollkommen leise vonstatten geht, ist unser Ausgangspunkt: Was passiert, wenn sich Männer wegbewegen von den Rollen, die ihnen Neoliberalismus und Patriarchat zuschreiben? Und was würde geschehen, wenn dieses Phänomen sich zu einer Bewegung entwickeln würde, die über Japan hinausgeht?

RESEARCH IN USA

Den stärksten Kontrast zu den Herbivoren Männern Japans bilden wahrscheinlich die US-amerikanischen Angry White Men, mit denen sich THE AGENCY im Rahmen des Arbeitstipendiums der Stadt München in einer Recherchereise im März/April 2019 auseinandersetzte. Zu den Angry White Men gehören verschiedene Phänomene wie die sogenannten Incels (Involuntary Celibats), deren Forderung nach einem männlichen Recht auf Sex auch die Legalisierung von Vergewaltigung beinhaltet oder die anti-feministischen “Men going their own way”, die sich durch einen “Sexodus” von einer vermeintlichen Weltherrschaft der Frauen befreien wollen. In Interviews mit Michael Kimmel (Angry White Men, 2013 oder Healing from Hate, 2018) und Arlie Russel Hochschild (Strangers in Their Own Land, 2016) ging THE AGENCY dem Komplex von männlichem Anspruchsdenken, einem vermeintlichen Privilegienverlust und überholten Heldenfiguren nach.

all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2020