all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2019

New Men*s Movement

"New Men*s Movement" is a work cycle dedicated to the connection between masculinity and right-wing thinking in the post-digital age. THE AGENCY will analyze these relationships in several productions between 2018 and 2020 and connect the digital and analogue space to create a counter-movement: a New Men*s Movement.

Our research in Japan in May/June 2018 and in Munich in September/October 2018, made possible by the scholarship Bloom up from the Rodeo Festival, has revolved around the phenomenon "Herbivore Men". The sociologist Maki Fukasawa used this term to describe heterosexual men in their mid-twenties to mid-thirties who do not pursue a typical career, do not play the role of breadwinner and husband, and - very present in the Western media - perhaps even have less or no sex. Herbivore (= plant-eating) is associated with Buddhism and is associated with descriptions such as "peace-loving", "noble" and "reaching a higher spiritual level". Soon the term became an insult to a generation of men among Japanese politicians, who were blamed for the low birth rate and the economic decline of the Japanese state: These men did not fulfil their duties, they were not men, it was said. This phenomenon, which takes place very quietly, is our starting point: What happens when men move away from the roles attributed to them by neoliberalism and patriarchy? And what would happen if this phenomenon were to develop into a movement beyond Japan?

"Gather up, Man up" was created as a showing during our Bloom up residency research and forms a first fragment of the cycle New Men*s Movement:

RESEARCH

 

 

"Gather up, Man up" is the founding event of a new Men's Movement: Movement of contemporary Manliness, short: MOM.

The MOM Natives gather with their novices and investigate the rhetoric and practices of current, mostly right-wing masculinity in an offline meeting: the tears of the Sad Boys, the ghost status of the Men Going Their Own Way (mgtow.com) and the radical potential of Herbivore Men. MOM questions: What has to be given up, what has to be reclaimed?

How can understandings of masculinity beyond biological identity and heteronormativity be established? How can masculinity be a tool for change? How can we become MOM?

Within the frame of the Bloom up Residency THE AGENCY and their collaborators Nile Koetting (sound designer, performer), Taro Inamura (dramaturg, research Japan) and Kanako Azuma (video artist) from Tokyo were able to face the challenge of designing a New Men*s Movement that operates beyond identity politics in the current climate and offers positive potential for identification.

Pic: Franz Kimmel

"Gather up, Man up" developed as the first fragment of THE AGENCY´s cycle of works New Men's Movement as part of the Bloom up Residency of the Rodeo Festival Munich.

Supported by Rodeo Festival Munich, Goethe Institut Munich and Saison Foundation Tokyo.

with

Nile Koetting, Fabian Stumm, Kanako Azuma, Dorian Fabini, Taro Inamura, THE AGENCY

In the work cycle "New Men*s Movement" also the two works

BOYS SPACE and TAKE IT LIKE A MAN were created!

Part of the series MOVEMENTS

Gather up, Man up

all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2019

Neue Männer*bewegung

“Neue Männer*bewegung” ist ein Werkzyklus, der sich dem Zusammenhang von Maskulinität und rechtem Denken im post-digitalen Zeitalter widmet. THE AGENCY wird diese Zusammenhänge in mehreren Produktionen zwischen 2018 und 2020 analysieren und den digitalen und analogen Raum verbinden, um eine Gegenbewegung zu entwerfen: Eine Neue Männer*bewegung.

Unsere Recherche in Japan im Mai/Juni 2018 und in München im September/Oktober 2018, ermöglicht durch das Stipendium Bloom up vom Rodeo Festival, hat sich um das Phänomen “Herbivore Männer” gedreht. Mit diesem Begriff beschrieb die Soziologin Maki Fukasawa Mitte der Nullerjahre heterosexuelle Männer in ihren Mittzwanzigern bis Mittdreißigern, die nicht einer typischen Karriere, nicht der Rolle des Brotverdieners und Ehemannes nachgehen und - in den westlichen Medien sehr präsent - vielleicht sogar weniger oder keinen Sex mehr haben. Herbivor (= pfanzenfressend) ist buddhistisch assoziiert und wird mit Beschreibungen wie „friedliebend“, „edel“ und „eine höhere geistige Stufe erreichend“ verbunden. Bald wurde der Begriff unter japanischen Politikern zum Schimpfwort für eine Männergeneration, der man die niedrige Geburtenrate und den ökonomischen Untergang des japanischen Staates anlastete: Diese Männer erfüllten ihre Pflichten nicht, sie seien keine Männer, hieß es. Dieses Phänomen, das vollkommen leise vonstatten geht, ist unser Ausgangspunkt: Was passiert, wenn sich Männer wegbewegen von den Rollen, die ihnen Neoliberalismus und Patriarchat zuschreiben? Und was würde geschehen, wenn dieses Phänomen sich zu einer Bewegung entwickeln würde, die über Japan hinausgeht?

“Gather up, Man up” entstand als Showing unserer Bloom up Recherche und bildet ein erstes Fragment des Werkzyklus Neue Männer*bewegung:

RESEARCH

“Gather up, Man up” ist die Gründungsveranstaltung der Neuen Männer*bewegung: Movement of contemporary Manliness, kurz: MOM. Die MOM Natives versammeln sich mit ihren Novices und untersuchen in einem Offline-Meeting die Rhetoriken und Praktiken aktueller, zumeist rechter Männlichkeiten: die Tränen der Sad Boys, den Ghost Status der Men Going Their Own Way (mgtow.com) sowie das radikale Potential herbivorer Männer. MOM fragt: Was muss aufgegeben werden, was zurückerobert? Wie lassen sich Männlichkeitsverständnisse jenseits biologischer Identität und Heteronormativität etablieren? Wie kann Männlichkeit ein Tool für Change werden? How can we become MOM?

Im Rahmen der Bloom up Residency hatten THE AGENCY und ihre Kollaborateur*innen Nile Koetting (Sound Designer, Performer), Taro Inamura (Dramaturg, Recherche Japan) und Kanako Azuma (Videokünstlerin) aus Tokyo die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam erste Ideen zu einer Neue Männerbewegung zu entwerfen, die im gegenwärtigen Klima jenseits identitätspolitischer Zuordnungen agiert und positives Identifikationspotenzial bietet.

Foto: Franz Kimmel

“Gather up, Man up” entstand als erstes Fragment des Werkzyklus Neue Männerbewegung im Rahmen der Bloom up Residency des Rodeo Festivals München. Unterstützt durch Rodeo Festival München, Goethe Institut München und Saison Foundation Tokyo.

mit

Nile Koetting, Fabian Stumm, Kanako Azuma, Dorian Fabini, Taro Inamura, THE AGENCY

Im Werkzyklus “Neue Männer*bewegung” sind des weiteren die beiden Arbeiten BOYS SPACE und TAKE IT LIKE A MAN entstanden!

Teil der Werkreihe MOVEMENTS

Gather up, Man up