Boys Space

„Once upon a time, the whole world felt like a man's locker room: the corporate board room, the operating theatre in a hospital, the law firm, the professoriat. [...] Basically, the internet is the last locker room.”

Michael Kimmel

Pics: Judith Buss

 

In their cycle “New Men*s Movement" THE AGENCY looks at the connections between patriarchal masculinity and right-wing thinking in the post-digital age. How is extremist radicalisation promoted by filter bubbles and echo chambers? How do algorithms reinforce discrimination? To what extent are ideas from digital spaces such as 4chan or Breitbart News involved in the emergence and exercise of online and offline violence?

In BOYS SPACE, the second work within this cycle, THE AGENCY attempts to illuminate and undermine the role of masculinity in processes of radicalisation. An alternative space is created online and offline to facilitate an exit from patriarchal masculinity. “Boys will be boys” is no longer valid here. In BOYS SPACE, spectators as “Male Characters” meet their “Empathy Partners” and come across the confessions from other users. This gives them the opportunity to participate in the development of BOYS SPACE.

A production by THE AGENCY in co-production with Münchner Kammerspiele.

Funded by City of Munich Department of Arts and Culture and Kulturstiftung des Bundes

with 

Heinrich Horwitz, Nile Koetting, Nicolas Bourbaki 

 

Sound Design

Nile Koetting 

 

Technology

Nicolas Bourbaki

Dramaturgy

Rahel Spöhrer

Artistic Production Management

Sofie Luckhardt

with texts by THE AGENCY und quotes from Arlie Russel Hochschild, Michael Kimmel, Kathy Acker, Maggie Nelson, Leslie Jamison, Angela Nagle, John Cheney-Lippold 

 

with special thanks to Arlie Russel Hochschild and Michael Kimmel

 

with a glossary from the exhibition

"The Alt-Right-Komplex" of HMKV (Hartware MedienKunstVerein) Dortmund, curated by Inke Arns, with texts by Inke Arns, Jens Kabisch, Regina Weidmann

HMKV at Dortmunder U, 2019

www.hmkv.de

Part of the series MOVEMENTS

New Men*s Movement

 

“New Men*s Movement” is a cycle, which is dedicated to the connection between masculinity and far-right thinking in the post-digital age. The identity of the white, heterosexual male is said to be in a “crisis”: he is unsettled and angry at the increasing questioning of his privileges. At the same time, we are not only experiencing the strengthening of far-right ideas in Europe and the USA, but the spread of it which is mainly organized by men in online forums and analogously in movements and parties. If we assume with the US sociologist and masculinity researcher Michael Kimmel that "a certain understanding of masculinity creates certain political attitudes." (Kimmel, Angry White Men, 2013) - could new understandings of masculinity also create new political attitudes? From the analysis of these relationships, THE AGENCY created  the productions Man up, Gather up (2018), Boys Space (2019) and Take it like a Man (2019), which occupy the digital and the analog space in order to design a countermovement: A New Men*s Movement.

RESEARCH IN JAPAN

Our research in Japan in May/June 2018 and in Munich in September/October 2018, made possible by the scholarship Bloom up from the Rodeo Festival, has revolved around the phenomenon "Herbivore Men". The sociologist Maki Fukasawa used this term to describe heterosexual men in their mid-twenties to mid-thirties who do not pursue a typical career, do not play the role of breadwinner and husband, and - very present in the Western media - perhaps even have less or no sex. Herbivore (= plant-eating) is associated with Buddhism and is associated with descriptions such as "peace-loving", "noble" and "reaching a higher spiritual level". Soon the term became an insult to a generation of men among Japanese politicians, who were blamed for the low birth rate and the economic decline of the Japanese state: These men did not fulfill their duties, they were not men, it was said. This phenomenon, which takes place very quietly, is our starting point: What happens when men move away from the roles attributed to them by neoliberalism and patriarchy? And what would happen if this phenomenon were to develop into a movement beyond Japan?

RESEARCH IN USA

The strongest contrast to the herbivore men of Japan are probably the American Angry White Men, with whom THE AGENCY dealt with in a research trip in March/April 2019 as part of the work grant from the City of Munich. The Angry White Men include various phenomena such as the so-called Incels (Involuntary Celibats), whose demand for a male right to sex also includes the legalization of rape, or the anti-feminist group “Men going their own way”, which are characterized by aiming to achieve their “sexodus” to liberate themselves from women and a world which they feel dominated by women. In interviews with Michael Kimmel (Angry White Men, 2013 or Healing from Hate, 2018) and Arlie Russel Hochschild (Strangers in their own Land, 2016) THE AGENCY investigated the complex of male entitlements, a supposed loss of privileges and outdated hero characters.

all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2020

Boys Space

„Once upon a time, the whole world felt like a man's locker room: the corporate board room, the operating theatre in a hospital, the law firm, the professoriat. [...] Basically, the internet is the last locker room.”

Michael Kimmel

Fotos: Judith Buss

 

In ihrem Werkzyklus Neue Männer*bewegung befasst sich THE AGENCY mit den Zusammenhängen von patriarchaler Männlichkeit und rechtem Denken im post-digitalen Zeitalter. Wie wird extremistische Radikalisierung durch Filterblasen und Echokammern begünstigt? Wie sind Algorithmen an Diskriminierung beteiligt? Inwiefern ist Gedankengut aus digitalen Räumen wie 4chan oder Breitbart News an der Entstehung und Ausübung von Gewalt beteiligt – online und offline?

In BOYS SPACE, die zweite Arbeit innerhalb dieser Werkgruppe, unternimmt THE AGENCY den Versuch, die Rolle von Männlichkeit in Radikalisierungsprozessen zu durchschauen und zu unterlaufen. Online und offline entsteht ein alternativer Space, der den Exit aus der patriarchalen Männlichkeit ermöglichen soll. Die Losung “boys will be boys” gilt hier nicht mehr. Im BOYS SPACE treffen Zuschauer*innen als "Male Character" ihren „Empathy Partner“ und begegnen den Confessions weiterer User*innen. So bekommen sie Gelegenheit, sich an der Entwicklung des BOYS SPACE zu beteiligen.

Eine Produktion von THE AGENCY und den Münchner Kammerspielen im Rahmen des Festivals "Politik der Algorithmen". 

Gefördert durch das Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München und der Kulturstiftung des Bundes. 

mit 

Heinrich Horwitz, Nile Koetting, Nicolas Bourbaki 

 

Sound Design

Nile Koetting 

 

Technologie

Nicolas Bourbaki

Dramaturgie

Rahel Spöhrer

Künstlerische Produktionsleitung

Sofie Luckhardt

mit Texten von THE AGENCY und Zitaten von Arlie Russel Hochschild, Michael Kimmel, Kathy Acker, Maggie Nelson, Leslie Jamison, Angela Nagle, John Cheney-Lippold 

 

mit besonderem Dank an Arlie Russel Hochschild und Michael Kimmel

 

mit einem Glossar zur Ausstellung

"Der Alt-Right-Komplex" des HMKV (Hartware MedienKunstVerein) Dortmund, kuratiert von Inke Arns, mit Texten von Inke Arns, Jens Kabisch, Regina Weidmann

HMKV im Dortmunder U, bis 22. September 2019

www.hmkv.de

Teil der Werkreihe MOVEMENTS

Neue Männer*bewegung

 

“Neue Männer*bewegung” ist ein thematischer Zyklus, der sich dem Zusammenhang von Maskulinität und rechtem Denken im post-digitalen Zeitalter widmet. Die Identität des weißen, heterosexuellen Mannes befindet sich angeblich in einer “Krise”: Er sei verunsichert und wütend angesichts der zunehmenden Infragestellung seiner Privilegien. Gleichzeitig erleben wir nicht nur in Europa und den USA das Erstarken extrem-rechten Gedankenguts, dessen Verbreitung vor allem männlich getragen ist und sich online in Foren und analog in Bewegungen und Parteien organisiert. Wenn wir mit dem US-amerikanischen Soziologen und Männlichkeitsforscher Michael Kimmel davon ausgehen, dass „ein bestimmtes Männlichkeitsverständnis bestimmte politische Einstellungen hervorbringt.“ (Kimmel, 2013) - ließen sich dann durch neue Verständnisse von Männlichkeit auch neue politische Einstellungen hervorbringen? Aus der Analyse dieser Zusammenhänge entstanden die Produktionen Gather up, Man up (2018), Boys Space (2019) und Take it like a Man (2019), die den digitalen und analogen Raum neu besetzen, um eine Gegenbewegung zu entwerfen: Eine Neue Männer*bewegung.

RESEARCH IN JAPAN

Unsere Recherche in Japan im Mai/Juni 2018 und in München im September/Oktober 2018, ermöglicht durch das Stipendium Bloom up vom Rodeo Festival und der Saison Foundation Tokyo, hat sich um das Phänomen Herbivore Männer gedreht. Mit diesem Begriff beschrieb die Soziologin Maki Fukasawa Mitte der Nullerjahre heterosexuelle Männer in ihren Mittzwanzigern bis Mittdreißigern, die nicht einer typischen Karriere, nicht der Rolle des Brotverdieners und Ehemannes nachgehen und - in den westlichen Medien sehr präsent - vielleicht sogar weniger oder keinen Sex mehr haben. Herbivor (= pfanzenfressend) ist buddhistisch assoziiert und wird mit Beschreibungen wie „friedliebend“, „edel“ und „eine höhere geistige Stufe erreichend“ verbunden. Bald wurde der Begriff unter japanischen Politikern zum Schimpfwort für eine Männergeneration, der man die niedrige Geburtenrate und den ökonomischen Untergang des japanischen Staates anlastete: Diese Männer erfüllten ihre Pflichten nicht, sie seien keine Männer, hieß es. Dieses Phänomen, das vollkommen leise vonstatten geht, ist unser Ausgangspunkt: Was passiert, wenn sich Männer wegbewegen von den Rollen, die ihnen Neoliberalismus und Patriarchat zuschreiben? Und was würde geschehen, wenn dieses Phänomen sich zu einer Bewegung entwickeln würde, die über Japan hinausgeht?

RESEARCH IN USA

Den stärksten Kontrast zu den Herbivoren Männern Japans bilden wahrscheinlich die US-amerikanischen Angry White Men, mit denen sich THE AGENCY im Rahmen des Arbeitstipendiums der Stadt München in einer Recherchereise im März/April 2019 auseinandersetzte. Zu den Angry White Men gehören verschiedene Phänomene wie die sogenannten Incels (Involuntary Celibats), deren Forderung nach einem männlichen Recht auf Sex auch die Legalisierung von Vergewaltigung beinhaltet oder die anti-feministischen “Men going their own way”, die sich durch einen “Sexodus” von einer vermeintlichen Weltherrschaft der Frauen befreien wollen. In Interviews mit Michael Kimmel (Angry White Men, 2013 oder Healing from Hate, 2018) und Arlie Russel Hochschild (Strangers in Their Own Land, 2016) ging THE AGENCY dem Komplex von männlichem Anspruchsdenken, einem vermeintlichen Privilegienverlust und überholten Heldenfiguren nach.

all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2020