all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2019

WORK SERIES

The work series MOVEMENTS deals with the formation of political movements in the post-digital age. What if community is what we feel after waking up in the morning when visiting a social network? In what ways are our bodies and affects involved - and what difference does it make if I meet my fellow peers in an algorithm-based system or on the streets? MOVEMENTS explores the dynamics of political radicalization and asks how a physical movement in the post-digital age can become political - and how we could be both radical and ambivalent at the same time? THE AGENCY creates performative solutions in the form of post-identity political movements.

DESIRES

DESIRES deals with the production, economisation and circulation of emotions. In doing so, the work series places a skeptical focus on the often-evoked emotional authenticity, which can be added to any product as a meaningful ingredient in order to increase sales. But: What if we lose our ability to distinguish between actually perceived and instrumentally used, therefore somehow stimulated feelings? (Axel Honneth, in Eva Illouz' Wa(h)re Gefühle) How can one then distinguish whether a feeling that is produced in the echo chamber or any other algorithm-based system, is now actually felt or stimulated? And what difference would it make if this feeling is authentic or not, if it can be harnessed to stimulate a buying decision, sexual orientation or political radicalization?

Within DESIRES, THE AGENCY is interested in how subjects and groups are shaped by their emotions, and what critical options for action are conceivable when we are emotionally involved in neoliberal logics. THE AGENCY designs experimental arrangements in which emotions and subject compositions can be experienced beyond authenticity.

all rights reserved © The Agency 2015-2019

WERKREIHEN

MOVEMENTS beschäftigt sich mit der Bildung politischer Bewegungen im post-digitalen Zeitalter. Was wenn community nun das ist, was wir morgens nach dem Aufwachen in Form des Besuchs eines sozialen Netzwerks empfinden? Auf welche Weise sind unsere Körper und Affekte dabei involviert - und welchen Unterschied macht es, ob ich meine Mitstreiter*innen in einem algorithmengestützten System treffe oder auf der Straße? MOVEMENTS erforscht die Dynamiken politischer Radikalisierung und fragt wie eine körperliche Bewegung im post-digitalen Zeitalter politisch werden kann - und wie wir zugleich radikal und ambivalent sein könnten? THE AGENCY erstellt performative Lösungsvorschläge in Form von post-identitären politischen Bewegungen.

DESIRES

DESIRES befasst sich mit der Produktion, Ökonomisierung und Zirkulation von Emotionen. Hierbei legt die Werkreihe ihren skeptischen Fokus auf die vielfach beschworene emotionale Authentizität, die als sinnstiftende Zutat jeglichen Produkten absatzsteigernd beigemischt werden kann. Aber: Was, wenn wir unsere Fähigkeit zur Unterscheidung von tatsächlich empfundenen und instrumentell eingesetzten, also irgendwie stimulierten Gefühlen, verlieren?  (Axel Honneth, in Eva Illouz Wahre Gefühle) Was würde es für einen Unterschied machen, ob ein Gefühl authentisch ist oder nicht, wenn es zur Stimulation einer Kaufentscheidung, einer sexuellen Orientierung oder politischer Radikalisierung nutzbar gemacht werden kann?

DESIRES interessiert sich dafür, wie Subjekte und Sozialitäten anhand ihrer Emotionen geformt werden und welche kritischen Handlungs-möglichkeiten denkbar sind, wenn wir emotional in neoliberale Logiken verstrickt sind. THE AGENCY entwirft Versuchsanordnungen, in denen Emotionen und Subjektkonstitutionen jenseits von Authentizität erlebbar werden.