Nurturæl

GLITCH-NURTURAEL.jpg

Lothringer 13, Munich
09.06.2022 - 03.07.2021

Pic: The Agency

 

In N U R T U R Æ L the sun is omnipresent. Earth's forests and seas are silted up while beings known and unknown to us try to collaboratively ensure their survival: potential ecosystems of animate objects, no longer human, and animal species practising or unlearning a future existence.

N U R T U R Æ L looks into a not-too-distant future in which the precariousness of survival for various forms of life is once again palpable. How might a poetics of relations with the earth be tested, beyond a centring of the human or the living?

 

For the Lothringer 13 Halle, THE AGENCY curates a speculative scenario for a possible post-human world, in which collaborative survival, being dependent on one another and caring for one another form the prerequisite for a possible post-human way of being together. Like the desert itself, the exhibition N U R T U R Æ L has hot and cold phases: It will open on 9.06.2022 with a cold phase.

 

From June 23rd, SOLASTALGIA, the performative installation by THE AGENCY with Challenge Gumbodete, Liina Magnea and Kate Strong will premiere. In SOLASTALGIA, the aridity of the desert forms the backdrop for a ceremony of farewell: between consolation (sōlācium) and -algia (pain, suffering, grief), solastalgia describes the feeling of loss of habitat due to global warming. In SOLASTALGIA, THE AGENCY creates a space of farewell to the centrality of humans in an ecosystem they have destroyed.

A production by THE AGENCY, co-produced by Lothringer 13.

Funded by the Cultural Office of the City of Munich.

Artistic Direction

The Agency

 

By and with

Challenge Gumbodete, Kate Strong, Liina Magnea, Sofie Luckhardt, Sarah Johanna Theurer, Belle Santos, Yana Thönnes 

Sound Design

Nile Koetting 

Dramaturgy

Sarah Johanna Theurer 

Artistic Production Management

Sofie Luckhardt 

Technical Director

Amina Nouns 

Assistant Artistic Direction

Veronika Müller-Hauszer

With artistic works by

Sarah Doerfel, Kanako Azuma, Nile Koetting und The Agency

Curated by

The Agency

sand stories - program organized and curated by

Sofie Luckhardt und Sarah Johanna Theurer

gefoerdert_von_der_LHM.png
L13_types_signatur_2020-JUNI_cmyk_black.png
Glasshouse-Logo-StudioPandan-1080x400px-black-RGB.png

To accompany Nurturæl, we invite you to 'sand stories', a series of conversations that precede the exhibition and performance at Lothringer 13 Halle. Starting in January 2022, we will meet online and read current theories on the climate crisis and climate justice and discuss with guests such as Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Kiran Pereira and Caspar Heinemann.

The conversations will be in English, questions and comments in German are welcome.

09.01.2022 6pm Elizabeth A. Povinelli

17.04.2022 6pm Kiran Pereira

 

In collaboration with glasshouse, THE AGENCY publishes the website nurturael.site, which acts as a digital mood board during the development process. Here THE AGENCY collects their research, inspirations and texts and shares them with the audience to give an insight into the making of SOLASTALGIA.

Nurturæl

GLITCH-NURTURAEL.jpg

Lothringer 13, München
09.06.2022 bis 03.07.2021

Foto: The Agency

 

In N U R T U R Æ L ist die Sonne allgegenwärtig. Wälder und Meere der Erde sind versandet, während uns bekannte und unbekannte Wesen versuchen, kollaborativ ihr Überleben zu sichern: Potentielle Ökosysteme belebter Objekte, nicht mehr menschlicher Menschen und tierischer Spezies, die ein zukünftiges Existieren üben oder verlernen.

N U R T U R Æ L blickt in eine nicht allzu ferne Zukunft, in der die Prekarität des Überlebens für verschiedene Lebensformen einmal mehr spürbar wird. Wie könnte eine Poetik der Beziehungen mit der Erde erprobt werden, jenseits einer Zentrierung des Menschlichen oder des Lebendigen?

 

Für die Lothringer 13 Halle kuratiert THE AGENCY mit der Ausstellung N U R T U R Æ L ein spekulatives Szenario für eine mögliche Welt nach dem Menschen, in dem kollaboratives Überleben, Aufeinander Angewiesensein und Sorge umeinander die Voraussetzung bilden für eine mögliche post-humane Art des Miteinander-Seins. Wie die Wüste selbst hat N U R T U R Æ L heiße und kalte Phasen: Die Ausstellung eröffnet am 9.06.2022 mit einer kalten Phase.

 

Ab dem 23.06. wird SOLASTALGIA, die performative Installation von THE AGENCY mit Challenge Gumbodete, Liina Magnea und Kate Strong Premiere feiern. In SOLASTALGIA, bildet die Trockenheit der Wüste den Hintergrund für eine Zeremonie des Abschieds: Zwischen Trost (sōlācium) und -algia (Schmerz, Leid, Trauer) beschreibt Solastalgie das Gefühl des Verlusts des Lebensraums aufgrund der globalen Erwärmung. In SOLASTALGIA erschafft THE AGENCY einen Raum des Abschieds von der Zentralität des Menschen in einem von ihm zerstörten Ökosystem.

Eine Produktion von THE AGENCY in Koproduktion mit der Lothringer 13. Gefördert durch das Kulturreferat der Landeshauptstadt München.

Künstlerische Leitung

The Agency

 

Von und mit

Challenge Gumbodete, Kate Strong, Liina Magnea, Sofie Luckhardt, Sarah Johanna Theurer, Belle Santos, Yana Thönnes 

Sound Design

Nile Koetting 

Dramaturgie

Sarah Johanna Theurer 

Künstlerische Produktionsleitung

Sofie Luckhardt 

Technische Leitung

Amina Nouns 

Künstlerische Assistenz

Veronika Müller-Hauszer

Mit künstlerischen Arbeiten von

Sarah Doerfel, Kanako Azuma, Nile Koetting und The Agency

Kuratiert von

The Agency

sand stories - Programm kuratiert von

Sofie Luckhardt und Sarah Johanna Theurer

gefoerdert_von_der_LHM.png
L13_types_signatur_2020-JUNI_cmyk_black.png
Glasshouse-Logo-StudioPandan-1080x400px-black-RGB.png

 

Begleitend zu Nurturæl laden wir zu ‘sand stories’ ein, einer Reihe von Gesprächen die der Ausstellung und Performance in der Lothringer 13 Halle vorangehen. Ab Januar 2022 treffen wir uns online und lesen aktuelle Theorien über die Klimakrise und Klimagerechtigkeit und diskutieren mit Gästen wie Elizabeth A. Povinelli, Kiran Pereira und Caspar Heinemann.

Die Gespräche werden auf Englisch stattfinden, Fragen und Kommentare auf Deutsch sind herzlich willkommen.

09.01.2022 6pm Elizabeth A. Povinelli

17.04.2022 6pm Kiran Pereira

In Zusammenarbeit mit glasshouse veröffentlicht THE AGENCY die Website nurturael.site, die als digitales Moodboard während des Erarbeitungsprozess fungiert. Hier sammelt THE AGENCY ihre Recherche, ihre Inspirationen und Texte und teilt sie mit dem Publikum um einen Einblick in die Entstehung von SOLASTALGIA zu geben.